Blog

Fieldwork – A Visit to the Olympic Sculpture Park

On a beautiful Saturday morning, our group of young designers visited the Olympic Sculpture Park, and came to discover the relationship between the natural- and built- environment. As they walked through the space, some were captured by the way in which a large scale installation like Richard Serra’s “Wake” interacts with its surroundings, some admired Alexander Calder’s soaring “Eagle” against the Seattle skyline, and some were strongly affected by Louise Bourgeois’s “Father and Son”. Here to share with you, a poem written by one of our students — “Divided”:

Father and Son, 2005 Louise Bourgeois, American (born French); born 1911, Paris; died 2010, New York Stainless steel, aluminum, water and bronze bell 36 ft. L x 26 ft. W overall dimension of fountain basin; 77 in. H: Father figure; 57 in. H: Son figure Seattle Art Museum, Gift of the Estate of Stu Smailes, 2006.141 © Louise Bourgeois Photo: Benjamin Benschneider
Father and Son, 2005
Louise Bourgeois, American (born French); born 1911, Paris; died 2010, New York
Stainless steel, aluminum, water and bronze bell
36 ft. L x 26 ft. W overall dimension of fountain basin; 77 in. H: Father figure; 57 in. H: Son figure
Seattle Art Museum, Gift of the Estate of Stu Smailes, 2006.141
© Louise Bourgeois
Photo: Benjamin Benschneider

Separated.

Divided.

Forever at odds with each other.
Divided by engulfing torrents of icy water.

I saw this very thing today at the Sculpture Park.
A sculpture of father and child.

Do you see the same thing I do?
Can you see the similarities between them and us?

I see it.
I feel the distance between us.

Sadly though, I don’t feel that shorter distances between houses
Will equal a shorter distance between hearts.

You keep stringing me along with a thread that keeps thickening and thinning,
With the decisions you have made over the passing years.
No matter the strain it has endured,
It has never snapped much to my chagrin.

For as much as I wish I could cut that string that runs from me to you,
I have found myself unable.
After all, here I am
Thinking of you again
Despite my attempts to not pray that things were different.

I don’t want to be that girl who cannot live without her father’s approval…
I am not that girl.

I refuse to wait for you to become the father I needed.
I will not be strung along anymore.

That thread that binds me to you
Will one day snap,
And I will not become lost in the icy water
When it does.

We are divided…
And I am trying not to care.

COMMENT BELOW

